



For Immediate Release Feb. 22, 2022 AASHTO Contact Tony Dorsey tdorsey@aashto.org, Cell: 202-412-2391

NASEO Contact Cassie Powers

cpowers@naseo.org, Cell: 571-290-0287

AASHTO, NASEO Sign MOU to Ensure Coordination in Electric Vehicle Investment

WASHINGTON – The American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials (AASHTO), the National Association of State Energy Officials (NASEO), and the U.S. Departments of Transportation and Energy today signed a <u>memorandum of understanding (MOU)</u> to ensure the "strategic, coordinated, efficient, and equitable" investment of electric vehicle charging station infrastructure.

The MOU provides a framework for collaboration in response to the \$5 billion National Electric Vehicle Infrastructure Formula Program—provided by the Infrastructure Investment and Jobs Act (IIJA)—to build and operate a nationwide network of EV charging stations across the country.

"The focus on electric vehicle charging infrastructure across our national transportation network is a huge step to reducing greenhouse gas emissions, and we applauded the administration's focus on this issue," said Jim Tymon, AASHTO Executive Director. "Many state departments of transportation have found success in their own EV charging infrastructure programs and know first-hand that collaboration between state energy offices and other agencies is instrumental to success. This is a massive undertaking, and this partnership will ensure all stakeholders are on the same page when it comes to challenges, concerns, best practices, and lessons learned."

"State Energy Offices have led and supported transportation electrification planning and EV implementation in their states for over a decade, often in partnership with their state departments of transportation, state environmental agencies and private sector to advance energy, resilience, climate, and economic development goals," said David Terry, NASEO Executive Director. "NASEO is excited to work with AASHTO, the U.S. Department of Transportation, and the U.S. Department of Energy to support the states and private sector as they expand their existing EV planning and deployment models, and develop new and enhanced programs to reach the shared EV goals of states, congress, and administration." The MOU states that AASHTO, NASEO, USDOT, and DOE will:

- Convene national, regional, state, local, tribal, and private sector actors to build capacity of EV charging station investments, foster coordination across a national network, advance common goals, and tackle shared challenges;
- Enhance coordination between state energy offices and state departments of transportation to leverage existing EV policies and programs with federal funding while also understanding the importance of private sector investment and engagement;
- Create a user-friendly, inclusive communications feedback loop between key state agencies and the federal government to ensure effective, coordinated, and timely EV charging planning and implementation;
- Identify data, technical, and programmatic assistance needs of states as they develop and implement state EV infrastructure deployment plans to maximize the effectiveness of IIJA programs; and
- Identify potential opportunities for federal EV charging investments to provide benefits to disadvantaged communities, facilitate job creation, and foster workforce development.

--####--

The American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials represent State Departments of Transportation in all 50 states, the District of Columbia, and Puerto Rico. AASHTO is a nonprofit, nonpartisan association serving as a catalyst for excellence in transportation. On Twitter: <u>http://twitter.com/aashtospeaks</u>.

NASEO is the only national non-profit association for the governor-designated energy officials from each of the 56 states and territories. Formed by the states in 1986, NASEO facilitates peer learning among state energy officials, serves as a resource for and about the State Energy Offices, and advocates the interests of the State Energy Offices to Congress and federal agencies.